Review: Eat. Pray. Love. by Elizabeth Gilbert

Biography

In her early thirties, Elizabeth Gilbert had everything a modern American woman was supposed to want–husband, country home, successful career–but instead of feeling happy and fulfilled, she felt consumed by panic and confusion. This wise and rapturous book is the story of how she left behind all these outward marks of success, and of what she found in their place. Following a divorce and a crushing depression, Gilbert set out to examine three different aspects of her nature, set against the backdrop of three different cultures: pleasure in Italy, devotion in India, and on the Indonesian island of Bali, a balance between worldly enjoyment and divine transcendence.

Goodreads

Release Date: 2006
Source: Purchased

This awe-spiring memoir made me feel so excited for the adventures of life. A book that took me very little time to finish. I also generally don’t like the ideas of highlighters in a book, but there’s an exception to every rule and I’ve  Reading about Elizabeth’s journey into finding herself motivated me to continue trying to figure myself out and where I was trying to get to on my own path through life.

Here are a few quotes that I’ve highlighted because I absolutely loved from this book:

Dear Lord, please show me everything I need to understand about forgiveness and surrender. (pg. 185)

Learning how to discipline your speech is a way of preventing your energies from spilling out of your through the rupture of your mouth, exhausting you and filling the world with words, words, words instead of serenity, peace and bliss. (pg. 190)

…- working within my personality. (pg. 192)

I can stop interrupting others when they are speaking. Because no matter how creatively I try to look at my habit of interrupting. I can’t find another way to see it than this: “I believe that what I am saying is more important than what you are saying.” And I can’t find another way to see that than: “I believe that I am more important than you.” And that must end. (pg. 193)

But even though the quotes are few the entire book is my real favorite.

5 Star

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Eat. Pray. Love. by Elizabeth Gilbert

  1. Pingback: International Women’s Day: Bookish Style | Black 'n Write

Let's get this conversation started!

