Review: The Kite Runner (Illustrated Version) by Khaled Hosseini

Novel, Historical Fiction

The internationally beloved and bestselling novel–now in a beautifully illustrated gift edition.

An unforgettable story of honour, courage, and betrayal set in war-torn Afghanistan as two small boys test their friendship to its limits. Compelling, heartrending, and etched with details of a history never before told in fiction, The Kite Runner is a story about the ways in which we are damned by our moral failures, and of the extravagant cost of redemption.

This breathtaking edition is newly designed with two-colour art throughout, and includes three full-colour photo inserts–all printed on beautiful paper. Printed endpapers and an exquisite, printed linen case complete this gorgeous, must-have volume.

Goodreads

Release Year: 2007
Source: Purchase at Wee Book Inn

I saw the movie first, I skipped through the graphic novel and later on I found a beautiful copy of this novel (downside?) somebody wrote a note in it in pen.. very disappointed.

Moving on…

I write this review with still tears welling up along the rims of eyes. I saw the movie years ago, some scenes I recognized and others I’m glad I received a more detailed version through this book. I was reluctant to start reviewing this book immediately, but I wanted my raw emotions to really be revealed.

I read this book in about 2 weeks. Which is a record for me lately. This book felt completely authentic. Whether Mr. Hosseini had actually experienced everything he wrote about or whether he took facts, and notes and compiled a story from other peoples lives, it just felt so real. The incorporation of local language, the words, it just felt so true.

I’m going to be honest, when I first started reading ‘The Kite Runner’, I was bored, there was a lot of lengthy detail that I felt was unnecessary but thinking back, it was completely necessary. This book couldn’t have been written without all the extra detail put in; the background story.

I couldn’t put this novel down. I haven’t been able to say that in a long time, basically since I read “A Long Way Gone” by Ishmael Beah. But the roller-coaster ride of emotions was so worth reading until the very end. That moment when there is a glimpse of hope and happiness for the protagonist and his family, I couldn’t have imagined a better ending. It was perfect.

5 Star

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: The Kite Runner (Illustrated Version) by Khaled Hosseini

  1. beckyday6 says:

    ‘I found a beautiful copy of this novel (downside?) somebody wrote a note in it in pen.. very disappointed.’ – Ha ha! I am exactly like that as well, I hate it when people make notes in book when you pick them up second hand. I’m a bit weird in the way that I like to keep all my books as pristine as possible (unless they’re classics or have an old fashioned looking cover, then it’s acceptable because it makes it look more authentic, LOL. :))

    Nice review, I haven’t read The Kite Runner, or seen the movie but I did pick up a copy of 1000 Splendid Suns in a second hand bookstore recently, and I’m really looking forward to reading it!

    • Thank you so much for your comment. Yes, something about the devalued elegance of a book when it is written in is very disappointing. But I sucked it up and took it. 1000 Splendid Suns is another title I intend on reading, however, I’m more excited about his upcoming novel in May: And the Mountains Echoed. Which should be exciting. Keep me posted on your thoughts of 1000 Splendid Suns 🙂
      Krys

  2. Pingback: This Year: 2013 | Black 'n Write

Let's get this conversation started!

