Review: Sierra Jensen Collection, Vol. 1 by Robin Jones Gunn

Fiction – Juvenile

She’s the bold, free-spirited type. She’s cute, she’s fun, and she’s following God. She’s Sierra Jensen, Christy Miller’s good friend, ready for her junior year of high school! All twelve books in the popular Sierra Jensen series come together in four volumes to reveal the ups and downs of Sierra’s incredible God-led journey!

Story Behind the Book

“After writing the twelve-book Christy Miller series for teens, a new character showed up on the pages of the final novel. Her name was Sierra Jensen, and she was so compelling as a teenage character that readers began asking for a series about Sierra in order to hear more about her life choices. Our family had just moved to Portland at the time, and I found it easy to picture a sixteen-year-old like Sierra shopping at the local vintage clothing stores, hanging out with friends at a garage band concert, and serving at the homeless shelter on weekends.”

—Robin Jones Gunn

Goodreads

Published Date: 2006
Source: Review for Multnomah Books – ebook

I figured this book was going to be fun as my first “official” review, but without thinking or reading everything through I realized I had chosen a book that was 3 stories long. Fortunately, they’re really short chapters which makes for an even smaller book.

As soon as I started reading, I started to notice a couple of flaws, 1. there were typos, missing words, which was either making things more of a guessing game rather than a relaxing read. I also couldn’t decide if this was done purposely to see if we [the reviewer] was really paying attention to the words.  All through the three volumes there were errors that could have been avoided. 2. Some of the characters seemed believable, but than the dialogue all looked very made up. There was a routine, you saw the climax , and you later watch it come back down like a “happily-ever-after” moment. For the most part – predictable.

I’ve read somewhere that there were issues with with the idea of a father who allows their daughter to pursue an older man. Although, her father seems very happy to see his daughter happy, he hasn’t exactly pushed her out the door and told her to go find him. They always believed if it were God’s will, than that’s why things happened, and happened they did.

Otherwise, overall, apart from the few things that I’ve deemed as “problems”, I felt I could relate to Sierra Jensen. My 16-year-old self, that is. The personality traits and the constant need for adventure and relationships with everybody, the person Sierra was described made the books more interesting. I was able to laugh and nod at some of the moments thinking Yea, I’ve done that.. or wishing I had actually pursued some of my adventures than instead of waiting for “the right moment”.

Would I recommend this book to a young person? Possibly, between the ages of 9 and 12 or 13, depending on their reading level. Since this book was easily whipped through in the span of a couple of days, it’s easy to follow and understand. In fact, because of my age, I didn’t feel challenged enough.

There are good moral standings, and anybody could take this book and remove all the religion and it’d still be a pretty decent book. So I think it’s a book for anybody young reader.

3 Star

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would Love to Hear from You!

