Review: How to Get Out of Your Own Way by Tyrese Gibson

Actor, singer, songwriter Tyrese Gibson crafts a memoir filled with every emotion and life experience one could possibly imagine. With personal experiences paired with reflective questions based on his extremely popular blog piece, “The Love Circle”, Tyrese hopes to inspire readers to pursue their dreams and not let life’s obstacles stand in the way.

HOW TO GET OUT OF YOUR OWN WAY is organized into a series of fundamental questions that helped Tyrese redefine who he was as a human being, and evolve into a new man. Tyrese stresses that life becomes infinitely richer when one takes the time to know him or herself and understand the true meaning of peace and fulfillment. This book is a guide to helping yourself, using his experiences as a learning tool. “It’s not about talking down to people, it’s about elevating them,” Tyrese says.

Some of Tyrese’s chapter-based questions include: How much do you love yourself? How much do you want for yourself? Why do men cheat? What is your bottom line? Are you ready for the next level?

This book is called How to Get Out of Your Own Way, and I want you to really think about that for a minute. What does that mean to you? Have you ever let opportunities pass you by because you didn’t think you were good enough or worthy enough to take them? Have you ever allowed others to prevent you from improving your life? Have you ever stopped yourself from sorting out a problem? Most of the things that I’ll be speaking about are adjustments I’ve made in my own life, things that I’ve been able to see and recognize and stop doing. You can get in front of your problems and get in control of your life and make it better. Hopefully something you read here will give you permission to want better for yourself, because getting to whatever that better spot is should be the ultimate mission of your life.  (pg. 41)

Since I started reading this book I had tabs on nearly every page marking favorite quotes. Needless to say if I was to copy all them down I’d need more than a page to get them all written. So unfortunately (fortunately) you’ll have to read this book to read the rest of them. Although, I have seen many of the author’s films, and heard a multitude of his songs countless times, I was quite interested in seeing what he had to write about. After reading numerous tweets from readers from all walks of life about how excited they were about his release, I figured I might as well jump on this band wagon.

Getting a glimpse on where this celebrity came from and how he started makes the rest of the book a little more interesting. I do follow his tweets and Instagram feed and have seen a video or two of some of his deep insights and philosophies on life.

I must say that once I finished this book I couldn’t decide how to handle some of the information brought up. While also in the back of my mind I was trying to ponder what shelf this book would be placed in a bookstore. As much as many websites have classified this book it reads so much more like a self-help. But all-in-all I did feel extremely inspired by what I read. Perhaps it was the circumstances I have been currently facing but so much rung out and hit me in the head.

Just like when you have that conversation with somebody or overhear something and it just seems to hit you “the-right-way”, this book did just that. I felt heavy hearted and required moments of repose to process what exactly I read.

To wrap up, I would recommend this personal memoir-self-help book to people. Mr. Gibson touches on several topics and brings a realistic outlook providing a resource of what one could potentially do to resolve the issue. Obviously he’s just a celebrity and no physician, but at least we have something to contemplate.

4 Starsignature

Have you read Tyrese Gibson’s How to Get Out of Your Own Way? Would you recommend it? What other books have you read that you found on one shelf but you believe should’ve been placed on the other shelf? Let’s talk about it.

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Favorite Book Quotes, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: How to Get Out of Your Own Way by Tyrese Gibson

  1. Ma sucrerie says:

    Dear Krys,

    I definitely recommend Tyrese’s book :HOW TO GET OUT OF YOUR OWN WAY and his latest one with Rev run: MANOLOGY.

    Nowadays, we have more access to interact with the celebrities thanks to the social medias and
    I follow his work : music, movies, books, tweets and voice over diaries videos since his famous commercial .

    I was surprised and moved by the unvarnished truths about this book.
    I am grateful and inspired by the insight Tyrese Gibson shared with no fear .

    This reading gave me a better clarity and structure to move on my visions.
    And for now , i find myself spreading motivational advices to some adults , lost teenagers and young kids in my entourage.

    Moreover, there is another author who did a fantastic job by writting self improvement books .
    It’s Hill Harper and his Letters to a Young Brother: MANifest Your Destiny .

    To the authors : Keep up the fabulous work by inspiring others!
    I am from Europe and we definetly need this kind of books translated in different languages overseas…

    Love

    • Hello Ma Sucrerie,
      Merci for your comment, and I couldn’t agree more with the ease of access to celebrities through various social networks. I haven’t seen Tyrese’s commercial, but I have seen an inspirational video or two. Manology is on my TBR list, even though I have some resistance to getting my hands on it. I’ll wait a bit and see if I want to read it.
      Thank you for the recommendations I’ll be considering them in the future.
      Kind regards,
      Krys

  2. Pingback: 2013 End of Year Book Survey | Black 'n Write

  3. Pingback: This Year: 2013 | Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

