Quick Update

So, I can definitely say that I haven’t spent much time in a library in a long time – let’s say, since I was about 15 (I’m 23 now). I was mainly planning on printing some references for an upcoming interview and I felt a bit out of my “place”.

I think it was because I can hear a story-time down at the other end of the room. Pages flipping and, me, typing sporadically to get this post made. I think I’ve landed myself in the most ethnically diverse library in Edmonton. They have specific shelves for the different languages, the books are written in Arabic, French, Portuguese, etc.  Think of it and they might have it.

This single-level library is nice for it’s variety but unfortunately they don’t have much else. A small non-fiction collection of really old editions (my library tech. side wants to start weeding the collections, especially in the cooking, arts/crafts/sewing sections), the focus, I’ve noticed, is the children’s and YA collections. Which all seems bigger than the fiction and non-fiction categories.

I’m hoping eventually I’ll find a comfortable library in the city, there is only 17 branches, one has got to be one I can “call home”.

Alright, I’m out. But tell me:

Where do you like to get your books from?

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Various. Bookmark the permalink.

Would Love to Hear from You!

