Discussion Time

Alright,

Now that the news is out and most people have had a time to breathe and consider what’s happening. I feel like because of the context of this blog things need to be discussed. (I love talking, so sue me)

So Thursday, March 28th, (to say the least) there was a large announcement that Amazon has bought Goodreads. Didn’t hear? Here’s the link to get you started.

What do you think?

Twitter blew up for about 20 or so minutes filled with opinions on the subject. Some members of Goodreads has withdrawn their account and left for greener pastures, aka: LibraryThing. But it was more drama rather than resolution. Causing more panic than anything else.

There are now interviews being conducted and surveys gauging the potentially affected crowd.

Read an interview here by Laura Hazard Owen at paidContent.

How do you feel about this?

I’m not 100% sure how this will really affect me, so we’ll see how things develop in the next few months to the next year.

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Various and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Discussion Time

  1. Kelley says:

    Yeah, I read about this yesterday. I have to say, I’m not happy about it, but I don’t plan to leave Goodreads unless Amazon destroys it (well, destroys it according to me). I plan to watch and wait and only leave if I have to.

  2. nikihawkes says:

    Hmmm. I love how Goodreads has been running things so far, so it almost seems a shame to rock the boat. I also love that it allows me to post my reviews with links to my blog. It’s incentive for me to put my reviews on their site. If they disable that feature, I’ll probably pull my reviews. Amazon’s goal will probably be to make money. For some reason I think of Goodreads as striving for more than that. I guess we’ll see how it plays out. 🙂

Would Love to Hear from You!

