TOTD: Summer

See a pattern? Yes, I decided to do a theme for every season. Please share your favorite poems, I have personally reconsidered my early decision and have just decided to openly accept any poem of any topic of theme.

The Summer Day

Mary Oliver

Who made the world?
Who made the swan, and the black bear?
Who made the grasshopper?
This grasshopper, I mean-
the one who has flung herself out of the grass,
the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,
who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-
who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.
Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.
Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.
I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?

from New and Selected Poems, 1992
Beacon Press, Boston, MA

Copyright 1992 by Mary Oliver.

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in National Poetry Month and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TOTD: Summer

  1. Kelley says:

    Lovely selection for today (and I like the photo you’ve chosen to accompany it). It’s like a quick musing by a wondering wanderer, but it’s so broad and existential at the same time. 🙂

    • Can you tell I’m looking forward to the season’s change? haha
      Thanks, I fell in love with the picture first, it’s one of those photos that I just loved about the setting of the sun behind the carnival. Carnivals and summer just seem to work well together; the end of a day.
      I (to be honest) didn’t read the poem in full (at the time), but they seem to almost match each other in a very strange and surreal way. It (the poem) definitely makes one think twice about being appreciative and thankful for what we have in life, we have to acknowledge the opportunities we are given and not let them go because we’re worried about failure. There’s a direction for us all, we just have to trust somebody or something has a path for us to follow.

  2. Pingback: This Year: 2013 | Black 'n Write

Let's get this conversation started!

