Review: The Davinci Code by Dan Brown

While in paris on business, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon receives an urgent late-night phone call. The elderly curator of the Louvre has been murdered inside the museum, a baffling cipher found near the body. As Langdon and a gifted French cryptologist, Sophie Neveu, sort through the bizarre riddles, they are stunned to discover a trail of clues hidden in the works of Da Vinci—clues visible for all to see and yet ingeniously disguised by the painter.

The stakes are raised when Langdon uncovers a startling link: the late curator was involved in the Priory of Sion—an actual secret society whose members included Sir Isaac Newton, Botticelli, Victor Hugo, and Da Vinci, among others. Langdon suspects they are on the hunt for a breathtaking historical secret, one that has proven through the centuries to be as enlightening as it is dangerous. In a frantic race through Paris, and beyond, Langdon and Neveu find themselves matching wits with a faceless powerbroker who appears to anticipate their every move. Unless they can decipher the labyrinthine puzzle, the Priory’s secret—and an explosive ancient truth—will be lost forever.

Goodreads

Release Date: 2006 by Books on Tape
Source: Borrowed from public library

I thought it’d be a great time to play around with the idea of listening to audiobooks to try and fill in some of the gaps of my reviews. I don’t know whether it was a great idea to start with Dan Brown’s The Davinci Code. I figured since I had seen the movie on countless occasions I should have no issue understanding let alone if I missed anything while the book is narrated to me I could fill in the blanks. Now all that being said moving on to my review…

Paul Michael was fantastic at narrating The Davinci Code. He definitely brought the

characters alive by giving them appropriate accents and adjusting his tone as it seemed fit to the scene and text. I definitely have no issue following along and having a great mental image of the scenes of the novel. Although I did still have Tom Hanks in my imagination every time Robert Langdon had something to say.

Either way, by comparison of the movie (because I can), the novel was definitely a lot more interesting. Although, the entire novel definitely creates a good amount “what if” thoughts related to the reality of religion, the church and the everything in betweens.

Although I’m not a huge fanatic on religious history I could almost feel like there was some truth behind everything that was said in regards to Mary Magdalene, the tombs, the “behind-the-scenes” of Davinci’s creativity. I’m not about to go further and actually do the research in the history and the Brown’s own research behind the creation of this novel, but it felt very knowledgeable. Whether it is or not, who knows?

I enjoyed it, even though I avoided it like the plague in paperback, I would say if you can multitask than it’s an enjoyable piece to be heard while doing some work.

My Favorite Quote

I generally don’t do this in my review, but I’m sure if I was reading this I wouldn’t have picked up on it but here it is:

The smile that grew on Teabing’s face was almost obscene. «Robert, you’ve brought me a virgin?»

Langdon winced, glancing at Sophie. «Virgin is the term Grail enthusiasts use to describe anyone who has never heard the true Grail story.»

Teabing turned eagerly to Sophie. «How much do you know, my dear?»

Sophie quickly outlined what Langdon had explained earlier – the Priory of Sion, the Knights Templar, the Sangreal documents, and the Holy Grail, which many claimed was not a cup… but rather something far more powerful.

«That’s all?» Teabing fired Langdon a scandalous look. «Robert, I thought you were a gentleman. You’ve robbed her of the climax!»

«I know, I thought perhaps you and I could…» Langdon apparently decided the unseemly metaphor had gone far enough.

Teabing already had Sophie locked in his twinkling gaze. «You are a Grail virgin, my dear. And trust me, you will never forget your first time.»

http://www.e-reading-lib.org/chapter.php/71203/67/Brown_-_The_Da_Vinci_Code.html – CHAPTER 54

3 Star signatureWhat would you recommend should be my next audiobook?

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would Love to Hear from You!

