Call Me Crazy

Or terrible. Or what ever. But I’m seeking your opinion.

Would it be wrong if, through my public library website, I post a quick opinionated blurp about how I felt about a book I read and then posted a link to my blog to get people to come visit as well as open up there own opinions and thoughts on that same book.

Is this an abuse in privilege given by my library or would it be considered acceptable because it’s books that are available in the library, I’m living in the city and the fact that I do withdraw books from the library gives me an advantage?

I don’t know. I’m just putting out an invitation as well as allowing a greater audience come by and take a peek.

Let me know what you think. Would you “advertise” on your public library’s website if given the option? Where are some weird places you’ve put up your link to get more “action”?

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Blogger Confessions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Call Me Crazy

  1. Kelley says:

    Hmm, I’m tempted to say it’s okay. I mean, you’re opening up discussions about book and reading, and encouraging other people to do the same. If you’re truly concerned, though, you could always contact the library and ask them if it would be okay before doing it.

    • I’m a bit of a rebel (without a cause usually). I’m thinking if unless somebody brings it up and requests I stop then I’ll worry about it. Otherwise, I’ll just keep it up. It may also encourage locals to actually add their comments to the library website. Since everything I post to the website is through an account/card number they have all my information if they needed to contact me.

  2. nikihawkes says:

    Definitely… As long as I didn’t get in trouble for it. Businesses tend to be wary about things like this because if someone takes offense to something you wrote in your blog, the Institute might be held liable. Not that you would write anything intentionally offensive, but people are weird. I would cover my bases and create some sort of disclaimer to put in the blurb saying something to the effect of “the content and opinions of this blog in no way reflect the opinions of the blank blank library… Etc.” Maybe you could even pitch it to your boss as an “employees recommend” feature to allow other librarians to do the same. If you can get it past your boss, I think it’s a FANTASTIC way to gain some exposure, especially in your community. I’ve been trying to figure out a way to do the same with B&N (where I work) but they are real sticklers for the rules and “If they let me, they have to let everybody” lol.

    • Great piece of info. Unfortunately, I’m not employed with the any of the library branches in my city. Although, I do have a form of disclaimer in my “about” section saying something to the likes of “all reviews are my opinions & I’m not being paid for them”-kind of thing. But I’m sure if somebody from the library saw or read my comment through the website and didn’t like it, and they requested that I stop, I would.

      • nikihawkes says:

        Well, I feel sheepish – as usual, I totally misunderstood lol. Since you don’t work for them, everything I brought up is irrelevant.… In fact, I think your idea is kind of brilliant. I’ve tried doing stuff like that with Amazon and Barnes & Noble.com but they don’t let you enter in a URL (good reads does, and I’ve actually gotten a few referrals from there). I don’t think it’s unethical at all and in fact, it makes me want to look at my local library’s website to see if they have any restrictions.

        • Yea, fortunately they haven’t said anything (yet), and I only put comments up for the books I’ve actually borrowed from them. Not the other books I’ve reviewed because then I believe there’s an ethics thing. but it just let’s me get my blog out on a more local scale.

Would Love to Hear from You!

