Review: Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman

ARE YOU MY MOTHER? tells a very simple story for children who have just started to read. their younger brothers or sisters will also want to follow the baby bird’s quest as he asks everyone and everything he meets, “Are You My Mother?”.

Goodreads

Release Date: 1962 by Collins
Source: Borrowed from EPL

Are you my mother? is a timeless classic. I remember reading this book countless times as a child on long car trips and never got bored. Another happily ever after book as this young bird eventually finds his mother but not without some difficulty and scary situations as the “new kid on the block”.

The repetitive wording in this book makes for a great read-along or read alone, and easy to use words a child would no trouble understanding what they were reading.

Being published in the early ’60s, the images show but they are nothing but accompaniments  showing off out little bird as he goes on a wild adventure and meeting some unusual characters allowing the listener to use their imagination and their newly developing brain-power to answer little bird’s question to each character he meets.

I hope your little one (in question) enjoys this book and that their future children enjoy it too!

3 Star signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman

  1. I love this book! I read it to my daughter all the time 😛

  2. Pingback: My Month (in a Flash) | Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

