Review: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

Published: 2011
By: Harper Audio
Series: N/A
Source: EPL
Format: Audiobook
ISBN: 9780062250131

Though they have the vote and the Pill and haven’t been burned as witches since 1727, life isn’t exactly a stroll down the catwalk for modern women. They are beset by uncertainties and questions: Why are they supposed to get Brazilians? Why do bras hurt? Why the incessant talk about babies? And do men secretly hate them?
– Excerpt from Goodreads

xx

I saw this title on a bookshelf a while ago and thought I’d enjoy it. I heard the author go through an interview on Q with Jian Gomeshi about the book and I thought I’d love it. My second observation turned out to be very true. I loved every second of this book. The fact that the author was reading it made it even more amazing. Although I might’ve given myself a false impression of the book I was just happy to listen to a woman’s personal observation on life. Her life. Her views. Her opinions. Her experiences.

The entire essay was practically a discourse on her views on Feminism. I know a lot of people might think of this word as a cuss but be told, it is not, and Caitlin Moran tells you why.

I can’t say I have a favorite quote considering most often than not I was stifling giggles and guttural chuckles from the things she was saying and afterwards sighing because I knew she was right; generations apart yet still relatable. Some of her topics may be deemed a little too riské for some, but I believe if nobody talks about them people will always live in the unknown pretending that there’s nothing happening.

Would I consider myself a feminist after reading this book? Absolutely, actually I can even say that a lot of things said in this book were once thoughts I had growing up. Apparently I still have a lot learning to go to become a woman, but that’s okay. I’ve also realized that through personal life experiences I will only learn how to be a better woman and a better person.

If you’ve read this book, what were your final opinions of what Moran was saying? If you’re a female, were you convinced that your personal observations were closely similar to hers? If you’re a male, what was your initial reaction after reading this book? I’d love to hear all opinions.

5 Star signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

  1. Pingback: Review: How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran | Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

