Insta-Lift?

As I made you all aware, I was planning and following through with a transformation of Black ‘n Write Reviews. I’m not sure if I like it, but I’m sure right now it has some pleasant aesthetics that it didn’t have before – I think.

What I’ve changed so far:

Headers

I’ve decided that those frequently associated memes and events and wrap ups I partake in needed to have their own special header. Colors and fonts match and size, which was a big deal for me. Although, just for fun I’ve kept a few from when I first started just so anybody reading my blog from the beginning will see what has changed from start to present.

Categories and Tags

Well, those were just a matter of updating and removing weird unnecessary ones. That’s going to be a work-in-progress. I realized I don’t like the word “various” in a tag or category since it’s so vague. I’ll be making a few more changes on that. Thank goodness I can bulk some of those changes.

Why’d You Do It?

I figured that since I’ve started I’ve matured a little bit when it came to blogging. Just like changing some headers, I haven’t changed the progress I’ve made in presenting books that I’m reviewing. I’ve become more complex when I present some of the memes I participate in.

What Else Needs to Be Changed?

There’s a few things that I would like add:

  • Social Media icons
  • a button? (that’s a long term goal me-thinks)

I’m sure there will be other modifications but for the time being I like where everything is going so far. I’d love to know what you’re like about the new-do. Any flaws you might be spotting? I’m loving feedback and would love to get your intake. What do you think of the colors? 

Anything else? Nope.

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Blogger Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Insta-Lift?

  1. fishgirl182 says:

    Congrats on getting your blog in shape. I know how these house cleaning type of things can take up a lot of time and energy. I would love to have matching meme buttons, too, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I changed my social media icons recently though and it was super easy. Baby steps. Good luck with the rest of the updating and look forward to seeing the changes.

  2. Lizzy says:

    Personally (because I’m way-way too honest) I would go with a softer background. Perhaps texture the pink with another color like white to make it easier on the eyes. Right now, my eyes want to stare at your background and not your blog.

    I do love your header. The colors and layout are a perfect fit. I’m also happy that your sidebar isn’t cluttered. Yay! Overall, great job. You’re so much more artistically inclined than me.

    • Thank you! I’m okay with honesty and I’ll definitely take a crack at softening the background (I knew it was bright, I just didn’t know how bright haha)
      But I’m glad I managed to get some great criticism on what needs improving 🙂

  3. Pingback: Black 'n Write

  4. Pingback: Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

