Review: I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max

Published: 2010
By: Books on Tape
Series: N/A
Source: EPL
Format: Audiobook
ISBN: 9780307933249

Embraced as a celebration of modern-day debauchery or denounced as a kick in the groin to political correctness, Max’s funny, uncensored, outrageous, and irresistible #1 “New York Times” bestseller is now available in a signed limited-edition hardcover.

Goodreads

xx

Why did I even listen to this? I think it had something to so with trying to have more “masculine” books reviewed, I can’t tell if this book was a mistake or not. While working at the bookstore this book along with Tucker Max’s Assholes Finish First, were great sellers. I needed to investigate this and with the primary question being ‘Why?’

Why is this guy so popular?
Why do the titles of the books sound so crude?

Needless to say, although I’m sure I only received a glimpse into the paperback version of the book through this audiobook, I didn’t need to hear much more.

Although most guidelines when it comes to reviewing the main rule is generally ‘don’t pick on the author’, but in this case, how can I not? I don’t know who made this guy a celebrity. According to one of the stories (the one about his appendix) there was something about MTV, which doesn’t surprise me any, honestly.

Between the lewd acts and, I will admit, some funny scenarios this book is nothing but fluff. Personally, I believe this guy is a really bad role model. Not that I would see teens or boys buy this book, but I can definitely see men of similar age try to see if they can out-drink, out-screw, and just overall out-do Tucker Max.

I’m kind of guessing Tucker Max was made popular by his out-of-the-ordinary experiences as a bar hopping sex fiend. Although, I’m also not okay with the way he treats women. It’s disgusting, but by all means read to your hearts content! I’m not picking up another one of his books, and when the movie comes out, I’m not watching that either unless I walk into it being showed on television unexpectantly.

3 Star signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell by Tucker Max

  1. Pingback: Black 'n Write

  2. Pingback: Black 'n Write

  3. Pingback: Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

