They Made Me Do It

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the bloggers over at the Broke and the Bookish. Book bloggers from all around create lists based on the chosen topics, and post links to the host blog to share our love of books.

Oh those terrible books. Actually there’s very few that I did not enjoy, I loved high school – just saying. Most of these titles were taken from my years in high school, but some were also post-secondary or when I worked in a bookstore. I’ll sub-categorize the titles and then list from favorite to least.

Grade School

A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer

This book was read to my class in the 7th or 8th grade. It was devastating what this guy went through as a child.

High School

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Night by Elie Wiesel
Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare
MacBeth by William Shakespeare
The Curious Incident of Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I was a big fan of Shakespeare! However, I was forced to do an online English class in the 9th grade and it was devastating because the novel titles were terrible and I figured I’d choose The Hobbit as an easy way out, because I saw the movie (the animated version). I had so much trouble reading it to the point I actually didn’t finish it.

Post-Secondary

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
Dog Lost by Ingrid Lee
How the Mighty Fall: And Why Some Companies Never Give In by Jim Collins

The first was a recommendation from a classmate, the second was read for a book talk to several classrooms during my practicum, and the last was me forced to read this book for a class. I don’t like the way this book was written and was far too formal for my liking.

Work

The Help (Review) by Kathryn Stockett

It is a Heather’s Pick for the book store I worked for. Heather is the CEO and (something else) of the Chapters Indigo bookstore chain. She hand picks books that become a great deal for customers.

Alright, well it was more than 10, but can’t you see why there were so many? And can you blame me, I rarely participate in the Top 10s because I never know what to say on the topic 🙂

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Top 10 Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They Made Me Do It

  1. Pingback: Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

