Choices, Choices, so Many Choices

This week’s confessions revolve around my desire to go back to school ASAP! Here’s a quick recap for those who don’t know me:

I graduated from university in 2011 with a diploma in Information Management and Library Technology. Needless to say, I can now work in a library. I’ve finally found a job I absolutely love, it’s too bad that I absolutely despise the city it’s in. So, I figure, I will work for a few years to get the appropriate amount of experience under my belt and then get my nose back in the [text]books.

I want to go back and get my Masters, eventually, the only thing is I need to earn a degree. I was playing around with the idea of a BCom (Bachelor of Commerce), with potential aspirations of becoming a bookstore owner, or perhaps a manager of a library. Later I thought maybe I do some form of Middle Eastern and African Studies program, but with the prerequisite that you should do some abroad studying, and the fact that you may not be able to transfer your credits to another program, it makes deciding all the worth while. Why do post-secondary institutes make choosing a major/minor so difficult?

I guess I’m asking this because when I look at all the options for somebody looking to get a BA (Bachelor of Arts), the options seem endless. The only problem is that you don’t really know what you’re getting yourself into until you’re in it, ankle-deep, and no way out except a hefty paycheck for withdrawal fees.

I know a lot, maybe even just some, of my kind, book-loving followers; readers, might’ve had similar issues, or are even going through the same issues, and perhaps you may have some insight on how somebody can go about deciding what they really need/want/should consider when looking into their Major and Minors for a degree.

How about some sharing, y’all? What made you decide to get the degree that you now have? Or what made you decide to pursue that particular field of study? Life is hard enough that we should have to spend so much time wandering aimlessly through the interwebs hunting for that perfect course, eh?

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Blogger Confessions and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choices, Choices, so Many Choices

  1. Pingback: Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

