2013 End of Year Book Survey

Best in Books 2013

Best book I read in 2013…

I think it’s up in the air between The Night Circus and Madman’s DaughterThe Night Circus has a very surreal feel, the dark story line and the romance that happens on the confines between two magicians who work together to create a dream come-true. The Madman’s Daughter: a parody or twist from the original story of H.G. Wells Island of Dr. Moreau. A story based on the daughter of the notorious doctor that was banished into the abyss of the unknown leaving his wife and daughter to fend for themselves with nothing but a few possessions. Forcing her mother into prostitution and later she dies, leaving the young girl to fend for herself. She bumps into an old acquaintance who still has contact with her father, she convinces him to take her to her father, on an island that takes several days on a ship to reach. Exotic animals, a companion, and a girl, on a boat for the unknown.

Book I was excited about & thought I was going to love more but didn’t…

Spoiled, I’m not sure what I expected from this book, but it definitely wasn’t it when I started reading it. Chick-lit in a teen body. It’s pretty tasteless, but it was a book about teen angst and petty arguments over a play and boys, celebrity parties, bitch fights..

Most surprising book (in a good way) of 2013…

The Search for WondLa was the most recent novel I read, it’s the first book of a trilogy and when I read it I was more curious as to why I’ve never heard of this book yet. Needless to say, I’m still befuddled why it isn’t more awesome. It’s fan-fricken-tastic! Seriously, apart from some of my favorite reads, this one is pretty cool too!

Book I read in 2013 that I recommended to people most in 2013…

Sophia’s War, it’s a fantastic book based during the American Revolution, written through the eyes of a young lady who’s brother was part of General Washington’s army.

Best series I discovered in 2013…

The Hunger Games! Seriously, I can’t say I discovered it during the year of 2013, but I definitely read the entire series and its my favorite. The runner-up is the WondLa series by Tony DiTerlizzi.

Favorite new author I discovered in 2013…

Tony DiTerlizzi is the most recent author I found this year, but also thus far one of my favorites. It’s so difficult to choose just one!

Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you…

I started reading the genre “Christian Fiction”. It’s interesting and sometime it can be a tad abbrasive with overly religious ‘speak’, and then others are very subtle and doesn’t rub in your face the discussion of God or other religious speak.

Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013…

The Five People You Meet in Heaven was a super quick read and it really made you think about things afterwards. If you wind up putting the book down and not go into some form of meditative or complacent state, there is clearly something wrong.

Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year…

I don’t re-read books (normally), but since I listened to The Hunger Games, I might be willing to make an exception and read the books (again) in the new year.

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013

I didn’t read this book, but it’s definitely pretty creepy.

Most memorable character in 2013…

There are so many! There’s Eva from The Search for WondLa, Katniss from The Hunger Games, Jamie from My Big Fat Manifesto, Flavia from The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, Juliet from The Madman’s Daughter, and Verity from Code Name Verity. But that’s totally not all of them, but they’re the few that I remember.

Most beautifully written book read in 2013…

The Bells was a really nicely written book full of detail and mystery and intrigue with sadness, lust, and desire. I liked it 🙂

Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013…

I read a lot of non-fiction this past year, the one that affected me the most is Tyrese Gibson’s How to Get Out of Your Own Way.

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read…

The Hunger Games… the whole Series!

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013…

There were so many! I highlighted many in one book, but here’s one from The Book of Negroes:

Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013…

Hmm…

Shortest: The shortest might be either The Five People You Meet in Heaven or Sierra Jenson: Collection.

Longest: According to Goodreads, my longest book is Beautiful Creatures.

Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

Hmm… sounds like I’m going to need to add a “WTF moment” tag to keep track :S

Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc)…

The relationship between Henri and John Smith, a guardian and a sixteen-years-old boy who had quickly escaped from their home planet under-attack, and wound up landing on the nearest planet, Earth. These characters come from the book series Lorien Legacies by Pittacus Lore.

Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously…

The Seeds of America series by Laurie Halse Anderson, I previously read her book Speak.

Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else…

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Genre You Read The Most From in 2013…

There’s a mix between YA and children’s picture books.

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013…

Although I never developed any crushes this year, I did have a discussion with somebody about a male character in Louise Rennison’s Confessions of Georgia Nicholson; Massimo, the Italian Stallion.  

Best 2013 debut you read…

The Night Circus. although I realize Erin Morgenstern wrote this book years ago, it was her début.

Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013…

The Night Circus and The Search for WondLa both of these books were amazingly loaded with great details that made this feel real and “you-just-had-to-be-there-to-believe-it”.

Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013…

I really enjoy the books I’ve read from the Flavia de Luce series by Alan Bradley.

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013…

So many… you’d think I was hormonal with the number of times I teared up.

Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out…

I have definitely thought of why I never heard of the series WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi.

Book Blogging/ Reading Life 2013

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2013…

Since this past year is my first year, I have learned to love everybody’s blogs and have absorbed so much information from each and every one of them. New ideas and events and planning and books, all things have been loved and I continue to learn this way.

Favorite review that you wrote in 2013…

The Madman’s Daughter.

Best discussion you had on your blog…

I asked a big question in early November on how bloggers manage to accomplish reading goals of sometimes 200-300+. It’s amazing the books people accomplish!

Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on somebody else’s blog…

I believe the post that stuck to me the closest was Parajunkee’s blogging tips about Twitter.

Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)…

 

Best moment of book blogging/your book life in 2013…

My best blogging moment was when I received my first follower: A Wordless Blogger (11 months, 4 weeks ago)

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)…

My review for Tyrese Gibson’s self-help book titled: How to get out of your own way which received 137 views, making the day that it was posted one of my most popular days so far 🙂

Post You Wished Got A Little More Love…

I can definitely attest in saying that I wish some of my reviews had received more attention, but what can you do as a new blogger? I appreciate any form of love I can get 🙂

Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)…

Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year…

I finished the original reading goal I set myself at the beginning of the year. I said I would read 10 books, I have increased it several times, I’m currently set for 100 books, I’ve read…

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Krys has
read 85 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Looking Ahead

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2014…

The Postmistress by Sarah Blake

Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)…

Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah

2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating…

Pointe by Brandy Colbert

Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating in 2014…

WondLa!

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2014…

I hope to successfully read 100 books, finish all the challenges I’ve signed up for, and have at least 2 active discussions!

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Various. Bookmark the permalink.

Let's get this conversation started!

