Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Published: 2012
By: Dutton Books
Source: FMPL
Format: Hardcover
ISBN:  9780525478812
Goodreads

xx

I finally caved in and read the truly heartfelt book by John Green. I have now understood several things about myself and bookish vernacular I was never able to relate to or understand until now:

“Feels”: As I write this review I am still drying tears that have decided to invade my vision. I’m not usually this petty, and I usually don’t feel this much pain through the characters of the books I read, but this one truly struck a chord with me. At the beginning of reading this novel I couldn’t understand what everybody was getting all hyped up about. (Or I was truly heartless and wasn’t understanding what the commotion was all about.) Now I get it, and now I’ll try not to underestimate the power of fictional literature.


 That meme where the question to answer ratio: Okay? Okay. I was really confused before reading this book. I was like “What’s the relevance?” I get it now. It’s okay if you don’t understand, it gives you all the more incentive to go read this book.

The Fault in Our Stars is loaded with a lot of great, deep thought provocative pieces and I applaud John Green for writing this way. Although I do agree that children who are forced to deal with the reality of their diagnosis and there in turn are forced to become adults quickly, I have never heard a 16 year-old talk the way Hazel spoke. Maybe I’m just strange, or have a lack of Scrabble bonus words but seriously? The is no way “non-fictional teens” would talk to each other that way. Am I out of line?

Either way, I highly recommend this book. It was a great read, I finished it in about 4-5 hours. It’s emotive, thought provoking, and I believe it’s a very enlightening piece of YA lit.

5 Star

signature

P.S.

I dare you not to get that tight-chested, misty-eyed feeling by the time you reach the middle of this book. Just saying.

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. Pingback: Black 'n Write

  2. Pingback: Black 'n Write

  3. Mitchel says:

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.

    I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back
    in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

  4. Pingback: Review: Looking for Alaska by John Green | Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

