Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

 

Published: 2011
By: Harper Audio
Source: EPL
Format: Audiobook
ISBN:  9780062111234
Goodreads

xx

Shatter Me truly had an interesting beginning but after the author introduced the character Adam to protagonist Juliette, I felt like everything revolved around the hyped up sexual tension between the two characters. I don’t know if it was because of the way the narrator read the story, but eventually it truly felt like the story became just a revolving door of “Oh Adam!” “Oh Juliette..” scripts.

Much as I did enjoy the concept of a girl who has this great power and her threat to those around her, I did not enjoy the relationships between characters. The story eventually felt like poorly written smut – seeing as the series is written for young adults, I feel the author was trying not to go full detail of the sexual explicitness, or the fact that eventually there were shirts coming off and breasts being exposed (yet nothing is truly mentioned about this fact). I’m sorry, I should be mentioning at this point, I’m not going to censor myself about this review. Overall, I just wasn’t impressed.

A wicked (wicked bad, not wicked awesome) love triangle. Warner is a sadistic teen-leader who has been given control by his father. He has been studying Juliette whilst she spent her time in a asylum. Apparently at some point he “fell in love” with her, and will do everything possible to make Juliette see that. Adam is Juliette’s past. He became a soldier with a battered history, but is also deeply in love with Juliette and one of the few *spoiler alert* who can touch her. Coincidence? Unlikely.  Juliette was abandoned by her family for longer than she could remember, after a tragic incident she was committed to an asylum where she was practically starved of proper healthcare and nutrition.

The question is: Will I continue to read the series? The chances are slim, but there could always come a time when I have nothing better to read. Honestly, the way this novel ended I would’ve been okay with that being the end, but no, this series goes on for another 2 novels plus a .5 somewhere in the middle. We’ll see, I won’t put it on my priority list.

2 Star

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Tara says:

    I also had a really hard time with this one. I just couldn’t handle the dramatics of the touching and I found Juliette unlikable. I did, however, LOVE Warner. Though I did not finish the main series, the novella from Warner’s POV (Destroy Me) was pretty short and interesting. Overall, I just don’t get the hype for these books!

Let's get this conversation started!

