Review: Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

Published: 2013
By: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Source: Borrowed
Format: Audiobook
Length: 8 hrs., 56 mins.
ISBN:  9781619699205

Goodreads

xx

My mental jot notes :

  • I’m tired of hearing the word “Junction”.
  • My favorite character is not human.
  • Being a lady sounds like too much work.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book!

**Disclaimer: I’m sorry if the names of characters are spelled incorrectly, since I listened to this book instead of read it. I will try my best to find proper spelling in the interwebz.

I did not realize how “steampunkish” this book was going to be, but let’s be honest, I had no clue what any of this was going to be about. I merely judged a book by its cover.

A story about a young girl who causes chaos at home is invited as a covert student at a Finishing School for Young Ladies, or in this case: Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. The school sounds amazing, and I have begun to wonder which of the young debuts I most resemble. I’m certainly not Dimity Plumleigh-Teignmott, I might see myself as Sidheag Maccon – she sounds like an amazing character.

Can I just take a moment to shout out to the amazing narrator of this book? Moira Quirk did an amazing job! She was, by no means, monotonous. She had different accents that easily differentiated the characters, and (I don’t know if this was in the character description or what) but she gave Dimity a light-lisp! I’m not saying this to make fun, I’m simply saying that  it just makes her even quirkier.

Back to one of my points:  My favorite character is not human. His name is Bumbersnoot, he is a “mechanimal”, and he is possibly the most adorable mechanical wiener dog to be imagined. I don’t know, but he’s sounds like the pet with the lowest maintenance required. I want one haha

I look forward to starting book 2, stay tuned!

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

  1. Pingback: This Year: 2015 | Black 'n Write

  2. Pingback: School Books | Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

