Review: Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven

Published:  2014
By: St. Martin’s Griffin
Source: Borrowed
Format: Paperback
ISBN:  9781250063274

Goodreads

xx

O Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art thou Romeo? Deny thy father and refuse thy name; or if thou wilt not, be but sworn my love and I’ll no longer be a Capulet. Shall I hear more, or shall I speak at this? ‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy: thou art thyself, though not a Montague

-Shakespeare, Romeo & Juliet

I’ve always been a sucker for Shakespeare. I’ve always enjoyed the language, and better yet Romeo & Juliet was the first play I read by myself in the 6th grade because my parents agreed to buy me a copy through a Scholastic book order. I came upon this title when my public library was advertising the second book, Broken Juliet, on their “new books” display. To be perfectly honest, I had no clue what I was getting myself into, but I’m glad I did 🙂

Bad Romeo is not some parody of Shakespeare’s work, but the title is based on the fact that the two main characters met in a prestige arts university as first year students, and the play the first year students had to do was, you guessed it, Romeo and Juliet.

This story bounces back and forth to Present Day and Six Years Ago, before and now. In Present Day, Cassie is completely ruined and trying to find solace in men with no faces. Six years ago, she was an affectionate virgin who only thought of the dirtiest things she could do to Holt with his clothes on. Her imagination was soaring, and it made her hunger for more than just what she wrote in her diary.

Cassie Taylor and Ethan Holt have this hot love/hate relationship, from the day they made an instant connection. Cassie is unabashed by her intense desire to be with Holt, contrast to Ethan who is trying with all his power to push/keep her away. Holt has secrets, and Cassie just wants to be allowed to be let in. It takes six years, three of which were apart, for things to come to the surface. Admissions. Expression. Erotic.

I honestly thought this book was hilarious. I thought Cassie a very funny character who was constantly tripping over her lust for Holt. Yes, this book is very much drive by the erratic sexual passion the two main characters have for each other but it’s also light and funny. Bad Romeo is a page turner, and not because of the “heavy” scenes, but because you’d hate to miss Cassie and her antics as she vies for Ethan’s attention – in more than one way, and vise versa in Present Day.

4 Star signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven

  1. Pingback: This Year: 2015 | Black 'n Write

Let's get this conversation started!

