Review: Tonight the Streets are Ours by Leila Sales

Published: 2015
By: Farrar Straus Giroux (BYR)
Source: Borrowed
Format: Hardcover
ISBN:  9780374376659

Goodreads

xx

Let’s be honest, the cover is what caught my eye first. Second, was the fact that so many people I was following had already read it, and although I had not read their reviews, I figured there must of been something about this book. So here is my review to add to the pile 🙂

Arden is your simple small-town girl who only wants to do what’s best to ensure everybody she loved was happy. Until one night feeling low, she did an internet search of the phrase: Why doesn’t anybody love me as much as I love them? And what happened after that flipped up her world into a lot of soul searching, only in a way she never expected. Which was the result of an impromptu six-hour trip to New York City to find herself – to find him.

I really enjoyed this book. At the beginning I felt this book was going to end terribly, like it’s just lovey-dovey-happily-ever-after stuff, but no, this book ended as a love story but not in the way I had expected it. Obviously, Arden finding the blog Tonight the Streets are Ours was the climax to this story, and I had a lot of trouble putting it down afterwards. I don’t know how much I want to say about this book before too much winds up being given away, it’s not like it has been in circulation for very long! A teen with a penchant for doing good for all while still taking everybody else’s bullshit, but eventually coming to the realization that loving somebody does not mean you need to feel burdened by them.

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Tonight the Streets are Ours by Leila Sales

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up (#14) | Black 'n Write

  2. Pingback: This Year: 2016 | Black 'n Write

Let's get this conversation started!

