Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Published: 2013
By: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Source: Borrowed
Format: Audiobook
Length: 12 hrs., 06 mins.
ISBN:  9781478980070

Goodreads

xx

I remember when I bought this book at an airport all-purpose shop while flying between Calgary and Edmonton, realizing I hadn’t packed anything to read. I had never finished the paper version and decided to restart and listen to it instead.

It took several rounds of renewals and re-check-outs before I actually finished this book. There’s a lot of detail, but this was certainly not my favorite Holly Black book. Although, I had only read one in the past, I certainly preferred it over this one. No biggie.

A vampire book. A vampire town. The whole idea was pretty neat. It’s kind of like witnessing a year round Mardi Gras event, where every night people partied it up like it was their last night, which for some it might have been. Coldtown was telecasted for years, and it built up quite the following. Appealing to primarily the youth, black sheeps of their families, and the lusters of immortality. Tawna was not one of those girls, but after a crazy party at a friend’s farmhouse out in the country that went terribly, terribly wrong, she was forced into making a decision that would ultimately change her life.

Perhaps I’ve grown out of the idea of reading vampire books, I could scapegoat Stephanie Meyer right here, but I can’t (it’s just not nice). This will certainly not be my last vampire or my last Holly Black book, but I will say if I created a top 10 faves list, this title would not be on it.

signature

What’d you think of Holly Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown?

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up (#25) | Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

