Review: What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell

Published: 2009
By: Scholastic Audio
Source: Borrowed
Format: Audiobook
Length: 6 hrs., 20 mins.
ISBN:  9780545222501

Goodreads

xx

Eevee is almost 16, and her step-father, Joe, is back from the war and upon his return he built his empire as an appliance store owner. After many weeks of late nights, Joe comes home to his little family and announces that they are going on holiday to Florida. Without any rhyme or reason, the next morning Joe, Eevee, and her mom pack up and head south from Brooklyn, and upon their arrival strange things begin to happen.

I realize I’m ending my description ends like this might be a mystery novel, I’d have to disagree. It’s a murder mystery, but we never really find out who did it, with a female protagonist who makes a “big girl” decision to lie for her parents because she doesn’t either of them to accused of murder, even though it’s obvious they both had a hand in it. The beginning was sounding cool and slightly sweet, especially when Eevee was crushing hard on her step-father’s military buddy, Peter. But once things start getting tense then it gets awkward, and it almost seems Eevee takes having a crush to a whole new level of crazy!

I don’t know if I would recommend this book for a school library, since I know there are so many books about WWII with stronger female protagonists. Would you?

signature

About Black ' n Write Reviewer

I'm a junior high librarian finding her way into the lives of her students through the art of literature.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up (#26) | Black 'n Write

Would Love to Hear from You!

