Review: Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Published: 2013
By: HarperCollins
Source: Borrowed
Format: Audiobook
Length: 11 hrs., 44 mins.

ISBN:  9780062268273

Goodreads

xx

I finally read/listened to this book. It took two tries, but I did it! Needless to say, not my cuppa tea.

Needless to say, it was an okay plot but I just had a lot of trouble getting into it. Maybe it’s the science fiction stuff, you guys know I don’t read a lot of it. I did know this book had been a popular one when it was first released so I thought I’d give it a go.

The story itself is about a girl who is under the pretense that she has lost her father, that her mum is really her mum, and she was randomly uprooted from the big city and for the last little while they’ve been living in a little town where nothing happens.

Alright, that seems to sum it up, right? Probably not, but I figured I’d save the spoilers for later.

Mila acts, thinks, and looks like a typical teenager. She winds up being thrown from the bed of her friend’s pickup truck and this is where is gets interesting – I guess. Her arm is badly damaged but isn’t bleeding. She’s seeing herself for the first time for who she really is – an android.

Cool stuff. This is when we later find out the military is after her because she’s actually been
kidnapped
robot-napped
stolen because she was considered too human to be used for such terrible things the government/military had originally planned for her.

And that’s all this story is about. I realize I didn’t go into a lot of details about this book. I probably won’t continue the series, unless somebody can convince me to do otherwise.

signature
About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up (#27) | Black 'n Write

Let's get this conversation started!

