Review: Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan

Published: 2013
By: Penguin Random House
Audio Publishing Group

Source: Borrowed
Format: Audiobook
Length: 6 hrs., 15 mins.

ISBN:  9780804123747

Goodreads

xx

From what I can recall of books I’ve read in the past, Two Boys Kissing is definitely different. I like the first person plural narrative – which took me a little bit to understand who “we” was. I like the fact that the 3-4 stories that branched from the main scene of Craig and Harry kissing in front of their school to beat a world record and how it’s a monumental feet alone, but it’s also a statement. Whatever their cause was, I’m sure, realistically, the story affected more than just the other gay teenagers witnessing and being a part of this event.

The other stories were what struck me. The story about a trans-boy and a gay boy. The story of a gay boy who has nobody to talk to about his home-life struggles and his self-destructive behavior. The young gay couple experiencing their first love, but one is conflicted with the mortality of the relationship while the other is just being. All different stories and scenarios, but it was the narration that drew the reader into each set of lives and how they are facing the modern world.

I doubt I’ll have any spoilers, regardless I will say it anyway – The narration is by the people who fought and hid and suffered for their sexuality. The people who died whether by the hands of others or because knowledge was not in their power to prevent a now preventative disease (AIDS). The narrators are like the fly on the wall. They are witnessing the happiness, the destruction, the uncertainty of the characters in this story. They want to be the role models they never had. They want to tell them that things may never get better, but the current solution to dealing with desperation is not that. They drew a reader in, they showed what others are dealing with and it mesmerizing what the imagination can create when a story is well-told.

I didn’t think I was going to enjoy Two Boys Kissing, but I did. It took me a little bit to get into it, but once I understood the narrators perspective and who the story was truly about, I finally relaxed and enjoyed it.

signature
About Black ' n Write Reviewer

Library Tech grad who is currently working on a BA in Political Science and filling all her time with books.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's get this conversation started!

